• TheMadFool
    Doubt is overrated.

You can only doubt against an indubitable background. You might doubt anything, if you like, but you can't doubt everything.
    Banno

Cogito ergo sum. — Descartes
  • Lea
    it’s an assignment and i’m new to philosophy so it would really help me if you would give me direction on were to start, i was thinking on doing rewriting the question to is it normal to have doubt in life and doing an axe on yes it is and no it isn’t but i seems a little bit too easy
  • TheMadFool
    There are two important aspects to certainty:

1. The belief generating engine - logic

2. The input to that belief generating machine - propositions

I doubt both 1 and 2. Thus, I doubt everything including what I just said.
  • GraveItty
    If you had to write an essay about this question what would your axes be?Lea

I think the best way is to take examples as axes and not some "formal systems" of doubt, eventhough philosophers love formal systems. Which could be a first example of doubt. Doubting the formal systems.
  • dimosthenis9
    Doubt is a verbally expressible, informed, justified wavering between two options. When you doubt, you waver between A and B, and you know your reasons for doing so.

Worries, uncertainties, anxiety are more general, often not even verbally expressed/expressible.
    baker

I don't think it's necessary doubt to be always about only two options.
    Worries, anxieties, uncertainties etc just plant the seed for doubt.
    As to correct my previous post, they aren't exactly the same but surely they are extremely connected and in most cases doubt involves them.
  • baker
    I don't think it's necessary doubt to be always about only two options.dimosthenis9

At the level of decision making, it is. Before one can decide for a particular option, one has to whittle down the multitude of options until only two remain.

Worries, anxieties, uncertainties etc just plant the seed for doubt.