• Tom Storm
    Who says it's unsolvable?frank

All the mysterians do - Chomsky, Penrose, McGinn, etc
  • frank

I think McGinn just expresses pessimism. He doesn't really say it's unsolvable, does he?
  • 180 Proof
    So do you see phenomenal consciousness as essentially being an emergent property of the brain's processing capabilities? Details to be understood in the fullness of time via a scientific approach?Tom Storm
    Yes. I think there has been progress in recent decades explaining the emergence of "phenomenal consciousness" by the likes of neuroscientist-philosopher Thomas Metzinger (re: self model theory of subjectivity) et al.
  • Tom Storm
    Frank I'm no expert but I'm not sure there is a great functional difference between the two positions.
  • 180 Proof
    For starters read this thread. Also, mysterians et al. Pay attention, man!
  • GraveItty
    Right, no comprehensive explanations.jorndoe

I,m not sure what you mean by a comprehensive explanation, but that's not the one I'm looking for. You can't comprehend color just as I can. You can give it a contextual meaning just as I can. Maybe color is a necessity to see the difference between different materials, as is usefull in a Dawkinsian approach to evolution. Maybe it corresponds to different wavelengths of a small range of the solar electromagnetic field. Maybe it is a huge collective parallell traveling of electric spike potentials on a least resistant path on the forrest of the intricate and madly complex and orderly chaotic neuronal structure in the visual cortex. Operating on its own or stimulated by the retina, formally, dynamically (temporally), non-linearly, and holistically structured in the larger context of that same neuronal structure. I comprehend color, and so do you. We both know what blue is. No question about it. But do you understand what it is? No. It's a hard problem
  • Mww