• Agent Smith
    No but I’m serious. Look at the question again. Also this utilitarian calculus… “Who” benefits from greater blah blah?schopenhauer1

If the odds are in favor of a pleasurable existence, the person who decides to play the game of life wins :party: . If the opposite, the player loses :cry: !

We need to know the values of p, h, w% and l% to come to a definitive conclusion monsieur.

Please note, my math's a bit rusty and so cum grano salis please. Sorry if this was a waste of your valuable time. Not intended. Beginner here!
  • schopenhauer1
    If the odds are in favor of a pleasurable existence, the person who decides to play the game of life wins :party: . If the opposite, the player loses :cry: !

We need to know the values of p, h, w% and l% to come to a definitive conclusion monsieur.

Please note, my math's a bit rusty and so cum grano salis please. Sorry if this was a waste of your valuable time. Not intended. Beginner here!
    Agent Smith

So, "Who" loses if they are not born? Paying attention to "Who", the actual referent?

Also, "Who" is the beneficiary of the "greater number of people for greater happiness"? Besides the individuals that have happiness, why does the aggregation matter? It's a third-party equation that doesn't benefit from the pooling of happiness. Happiness is simply obtained by individuals.. No other entity becomes "greater" as a result of more happy people.. Ethics obtains at the level of person, not abstract equation of aggregation.
  • Existential Hope
    So do the positives ;)

Absolute numbers would be difficult to ascertain, but I believe that everyday experience is adequate to tell us that for a nom-trivial amount of people that almost certainly forms a significant majority of people, the returns are greater than the loss.