• frank
    Thanks for the advice, but I am not looking for suggestions about something I have been doing for many yearsFooloso4

Cool. Immersed as you have been in Nietzsche, how would you describe his attitude to truth?
  • frank
    You first.Fooloso4

Sure. I'm waiting for a GSW (gun shot wound) to the chest, so I'll make it short. He believed that truths are metaphors. Think about what that implies about the return.
  • Fooloso4

A one word answer. Doesn't seem like too much to say while on your phone at work. But it does explain why you think it is not likely to be a cosmological claim. I will point out two problems:

First, it fails to distinguish between claims that are or are not metaphorical. Or perhaps you think he held all claims to be metaphorical.

Second, unless all claims are metaphorical and his texts can be cited to support this claim (which is of course metaphorical), what he says about the eternal return does not indicate that he means it to be understood metaphorically.

Third, it closes off an existential interpretation because the claim is metaphorical.

Fourth, what is metaphorical has some meaning. Saying that the truth is metaphorical does not say what it means. Or perhaps you think the truth for Nietzsche is always indeterminate and open to numerous or innumerable meanings.
  • frank

I guess my question would be: do you actually want to discuss this with me? Or did you just want to present your view and be done with it? I'm happy either way.
  • Fooloso4
    I guess my question would be: do you actually want to discuss this with me?frank

In my world responding to what you said is discussing it with you.
  • frank
    In my world responding to what you said is discussing it with you.Fooloso4