• alan1000
    Does the 1st amendment extend to this philosophy forum? I expect and hope that the first reply, if any, should come from the forum moderators, because I am questioning a decision they have made which does not appear to arise from the forum rules.

Agent Smith recently posted a question relating to the cardinality of infinite sets which appeared to me to be a valid question in number theory, and to which I was minded to post a reply. I found that the thread had been terminated by moderators, for no obvious reason, and no eplanation offered. Why?
  • javi2541997
    Agent Smith recently postedalan1000

Do you mean his soul or spirit?

Agent Smith was banned like a year ago…
  • jgill
    As a mathematician I don't recommend this topic for this forum. There are not many of us here with knowledge of transfinite theory. But maybe some interest will be sparked and the thread will be better populated than I imagine. :cool:
  • Count Timothy von Icarus

We're committed finitists here. Heresies are not allowed.

In all seriousness, IDK. I see a thread in the queue by a new user named an-salad? I assume it might be there due to lack of content; I think this post might already be longer than it.
  • ssu
    We're committed finitists here. Heresies are not allowed.Count Timothy von Icarus
    Well, I think that there's something to Cantor's absolute infinity, and I've had splendid discussion about the topic here. And I've not been ban yet.

I think that there's just many issues in the fundamentals of mathematics that we don't understand yet. One thing is infinity, that set theory takes just as an axiom.
  • jgill
    One thing is infinity, that set theory takes just as an axiomssu

Not all mathematicians are set theorists. "Without bound" works pretty well for some of us, without transfinite or philosophical overtones.
  • ssu
    Yes, there limits etc. And then infinity as an axiom.