Why or why not?
    1. Do aliens exist? (10 votes)
        Yes
        60%
        No
        40%
  • Fire Ologist
    I can't answer that yes or no.

I don't believe in aliens, if by believe in, you mean that I think aliens exist even though there is only unexplained phenomenon that might be explained by aliens existing, but no clear evidence. I need more evidence before I would say I think aliens exist.

An alien would be a sensible object. I'd like to sense it first before I concluded it was alien and it existed. It is because certain phenomenon are unexplained that we insert "aliens" as an explanation. But as a scientist, I leave it currently unexplained.

If I had to answer yes or no, I would say no, not until I get enough evidence to make my judgment. Do purple swans exist? I don't know, but so far, I'd say no if you forced me, because, they have never made a clear appearance to me.

My answer is certainly maybe though. I even saw something in the night sky I can't explain. A light like a shooting star crossed the sky, and then it changed direction on a dime and shot off at much higher speed and disappeared. I was with someone and they said "whoa, what was that!?" so I know I saw something.

But I have no idea what I saw.

To make this philosophy, if there are sentient beings that are not human, I do believe they will be a lot like us - have math and logic, have language, have physics, have philosophy, and probably similar laws and proofs, at least at the highest levels. They would have to admit that we humans, like them, understand the notion of appearance distinct from reality, and so the notion of truth. They would have a notion of good.