• an-salad
    If everyone only did work that they “loved and believed in,” civilization would collapse in a week maximum. Adults are supposed to understand that what we want isn’t necessarily the same as what everyone else needs, and we should adjust ourselves accordingly. I’m a cab driver, and that’s probably what I’ll be doing until the day I die. Retirement is no longer an option thanks to the oligarchy. When did you first wake up from the American dream?
  • Banno
    So I guess the rollerskating didn't work out for you?

Bummer.

If everyone only did work that they “loved and believed in,” civilization would collapse in a week maximum.an-salad
    Why do you care? Maybe go do what you want anyway. I'm guessing that "civilisation" will look after itself, regardless of what you do.
  • Ciceronianus
    Well, I like to take advantage of any excuse to quote Warren Zevon:

"You can dream the American Dream,
    But you sleep with the lights on
    And wake up with a scream,
    You can hope against hope
    That nothing will change,
    Grab ahold of that fistful of rain."
  • Banno
    I want to work Roland the headless Thompson gunner into a clever post, but this will have to do.
  • Corvus
    When did you first wake up from the American dream?an-salad

The dreams coming true happens only in the movies and fictions. Waking up from the dreams into the cold reality is what happens in real world.
  • Bob Ross

The original American Dream was not about becoming rich: it was about manifest destiny, second chances, and acquiring sufficient wealth to provide and protect one's family.

After all the land was conquered and inhabited, the American Dream died; and was replaced with a new 'American Dream': greed. Now, the capitalism found in the US is, inevitably, slowly moving the wealth into a minority few--fewer and fewer people are able to acquire that baseline wealth. I wonder how long until we sublimate it with a better system.
  • J