• Carlo Roosen
    As a software developer, I am working on a novel AI concept that may lead to super-human intelligence. The idea is that instead of a single highway of information flow, there is a whole traffic square where information can go all kinds of directions before it generates output.

The information flow on these highways represent an abstraction of reality in some form. That means, it is a kind of language, although for us it is just noise. I will call this language Babelspeak. Based on Babelspeak, the AI can perform logical reasoning, store and retrieve memories. Much like our mind does, but in a language that is faster and more dense than any human language ever can be.

Now think of such a new AI running on your phone. It continually registers its environment and acts on it when needed. It may warn you: "Hey, don't forget your keys!". You can tell it: "Please don't do that when my mom is there. She is a bit afraid of you." Is this where we are going? Let's see.

With Babelspeak the AI builds its own conceptual reality. I am not talking about consciousness, we can leave that out of the discussion for now I guess. What I mean is, the AI has completely different inputs than us humans. It will have access to the sensors in the phone, including the camera. It will have immediate access to the internet. It will operate at much higher speed than our brains. But it will lack a lot of the senses we humans have. No emotions, I believe. Still, it will be able to integrate this into a representation that, hopefully, will create useful output.

The philosophical question I am struggling with is this: I believe the conceptual reality of this AI will be completely different from ours. Is there something we can say about it? Maybe it will be closer to fundamental reality? What do you think?

I wrote a little introduction to the idea of fundamental reality versus conceptual reality in my post yesterday, you may want to read it.
  • I like sushi