• poedgar
    Hello everybody.

I am a philosopher by profession but the question is rather practical.

I have noticed some logical inaccuracies in IELTS reading tests but as they have to undertake quite a procedure lasting a year or so to make sure everything is correct, and I am not a native speaker of English, I want to share, to begin with, one of these inaccuracies here.

Here is a sentence and its context, it is about the famous scientist Marie Curie:

'Because her [Marie's'] father lost his savings through bad investment, she then had to take work as a teacher. From her earnings she was able to finance her sister Bronia's medical studies in Paris, on the understanding that Bronia would, in turn, later help her to get an education.
    In 1891 this promise was fulfilled and Marie went to Paris and began to study at the Sorbonne (the University of Paris).'

And the question to it:

Is it true, false or not given that Marie was able to attend the Sorbonne because of her sister's financial contribution.

The material is taken from Cambridge IELTS Tests 7.

I wonder what your answers would be.

Thanks in advance.
  • Wayfarer
    True; the promise [to help Marie get an education] was fulfilled.
  • Streetlight
    Not given, I think: Bronia helped Marie get an education, but it's not mentioned whether or it was Bronia's financial contribution that helped Marie (as distinct from connections, knowledge, etc). The earnings in question in the passage are Marie's.
  • Wayfarer
    Well spotted. It might indeed been due to some other form of help.
  • unenlightened