• Albert Keirkenhaur
    Personally, I'm still on the journey to finding that out for sure. But one thing I've come across is that meaning is fragile and disposable. You could have a painting that was assigned a meaning and value by the artist, and have the same painting be assigned a meaning and value by the admirer. Is one meaning more correct than the other? Are they both abstractly contrived fabrications? Are they both correct?
  • John Kernan
    Meaning is an invention. If enough people invent or borrow other peoples inventions, we say that meaning has an objective existence. However, a meaning can be modified over time, and so it may lack permanence. A temporary meaning isn't really objective if it keeps changing.
  • Michael
    Computers are an invention too, and can be modified over time. So I guess they're not objective?
  • Albert Keirkenhaur
    My current view on meaning is blurry to say the least. I'm still rather new to existentialism and philosophy in general... but the way I see it presently is this: a meaning is a story that assigns an object, circumstance, or otherwise with a value. As for the existential tangibility of these stories, I don't think I'm in any position yet to say whether it exists - at least not quite yet.
  • Hanover
    If there is no meaning, then how can I know what you mean? Are we even talking to each other?
  • S
    You question whether meaning exists, yet you also seem to acknowledge that meaning exists. And even if you refuse to acknowledge its existence, you'd nevertheless be one big walking, talking contradiction.

Yes, meaning exists. It is encountered on a daily basis. Yes, people can and do express different meanings, and find different things meaningful, and meaningful in different ways, and to varying degrees. This is all obvious and rather boring.

The real question is: what do you mean?

A meaning is a story that assigns an object, circumstance, or otherwise with a value.Albert Keirkenhaur