• Kenosha Kid
    This mistake makes clear you haven't studied QM or don't understand it.Raul

I did my PhD in quantum transport theory.

You're mixing up Schrodinger equations and wave equations.Raul

The Schrödinger equation is a wave equation.

A photon is not a click, but if you go to the laboratories like in the CRN you will see that particles are not clicks but probabilities everywhereRaul

Do you mean CERN? In quantum mechanics, predictions concern experimental outcomes. If your experiment concerns certain photon emissions with certain probabilities, then this equates to the number of "clicks" you'll read at a certain angle of a certain energy across a large number of experiments. Unlike, say, the trajectory of Mercury around the Sun, we can't "see" photons without destroying them. One can model the photon using the wavefunction but cannot conflate the two: the latter is a mathematical encoding of all the information we have, which might be more than that needed. One cannot even speak of the photon existing in space and time between the emission and absorption events: even that is an interpretation. All one can say with surety is that we expect N number of clicks in a photon detector at a certain angle and energy.
  • Raul
    The Schrödinger equation is a wave equation.Kenosha Kid

Right. And do you insist QM is not probabilistic?

Do you mean CERN?Kenosha Kid

Yes, sorry, CERN.

"clicks"Kenosha Kid

I insist, it is not about "click", but if you like to think on a "click", up to you.

we can't "see" photons without destroying them.Kenosha Kid

Right, so when you say QM is phenomenological you refer to phenomenology as understood in physics, not the philosophical one.

Anyway, I think we're losing the point of the question, these theories do not explain everthing but are the closest ones to give an kind of ontological explanations of the real. Would you have other to propose?
  • Wayfarer