• ThomasJ
    Hello,

I am not a philosopher; I am a professor of engineering (philosophy was too difficult for me).

I took a course once and have a vague memory of the role of ethics and esthetics.

Right now, I am in a discussion with other faculty on the need to teach engineering students, ethics.

However, most of the examples I have seen are trivial and silly and amount to "Would you plagiarize?"

Sometimes, I wonder if, instead of focusing on ethics, we focus on esthetics; and that an appreciation for esthetics will beckon ethics. I have a vague memory of Aristotle discussing this (but this goes back 40 years).

So.... I am wondering if someone can point out if any philosopher, such as Aristotle, has made the case that ethics "follows" esthetics.

Can anyone guide me? I am, afraid, less interested in a long discussion, but a simple affirmative or negative on this thought I have underlined, above.

Edit: well, maybe I am interested in a longer discussion. Right now, I am more interested if I am totally wrong and this cannot be backed up.
  • tim wood
    However, most of the examples I have seen are trivial and silly and amount to "Would you plagiarize?"ThomasJ

Really? How about under-specification to save money, at the cost of god-knows-what? And it is not engineering students that need education in ethics, it is all students. Indeed, I imagine that in engineering itself there is no such thing as ethics, but that in application and use, very much so.

Imagine all the things that engineers can do. E.g. build a better mouse-trap, maybe even a humane mouse trap that satisfies all, even the mouse. Or a better gas chamber?

Consider Gerald Bull, engineer, maker of gun barrels. You can Google the rest if you're not familiar with him and his purposes, motives, choices, and fate.