• Tom Storm
    Tom, you just labeled me a newbie, crank, and dogmatist.Joe Mello

Well I can see that 2 of the 3 fit pretty well. I myself am a crank, but I was a newbie.

You seem to like jumping to conclusions, I though that was a no-no in philosophy.
  • Joe Mello
    Wayfarer, thanks for the welcome.

The only thing I have to say to you, because you're certainly heading in the right direction, is coming to know the absolute truth about our existence is absolutely knowable. Most persons believe that everyone is simply opinionated because most persons don't sacrifice enough in the pursuit of absolute truth.

And it takes great sacrifice.

For just as we cannot see two sides of a coin at the same time, we cannot see absolute truth and our opinions at the same time.

In a word, God will not interrupt us when we are speaking to ourselves.
  • Joshs
    Garrett, your trust in your thinking is scaryJoe Mello

And you don’t see any of yourself in Garrett? For Garrett, rationality itself is the godhead, and for you, an omnipotent being is the godhead of rationality. These are two sides of the same rigid doctrinaire coin.

just as we cannot see two sides of a coin at the same time, we cannot see absolute truth and our opinions at the same time.Joe Mello

Indeed.
  • Joshs
    A philosophy forum should be populated, at least, mostly with people who studied philosophy well enough to reason out basic logical problems.Joe Mello

I suspect if you stick it out here long enough you may discover that 180’s background in modern philosophy is likely considerably more extensive than yours.
  • praxis
    an infinite line of finite things is illogical.

An omnipotent God is not finite and therefore the only thing that could exist infinitely.
    Joe Mello

It seems to me that an omnipotent God can only express its omnipotence within a universe of finite things and a universe without finite things would be unchanging and dead.
  • Tex