• Agree-to-Disagree
    They model the climate with super computers and they subtract out the CO2 humans have put up into the atmosphere. That tells us what the climate would be like without our contribution. 100s of scientists did that. That's where the IPCC came from.frank

Frank, I was a computer programmer for the last 40 years. Just because they "model the climate with super computers" doesn't prove that they are correct. A climate model is based on many assumptions. To "subtract out the CO2 humans have put up into the atmosphere" they need to know how big the effect is. This relies on assumptions. The IPCC says that there is high confidence that the ECS is within the range of 2.5 °C to 4 °C, with a best estimate of 3 °C. That is a very wide range. Which value did the climate scientists use?

If 100s of climate scientists make the same incorrect assumptions then they will all get the same incorrect answers. If the majority of people think that the earth if flat it doesn't mean that the earth really is flat.
  • Agree-to-Disagree
    But kudos for almost finding a mistake in a news item. :roll:unenlightened

I didn't say that the news item is wrong. What I said is based on the assumption that the news item is correct.
  • Agree-to-Disagree
    I think he's just here to poke unenlightened in the butt.
    — frank

Always happy to be someone's significant other. :joke:
    unenlightened

I am more of a breast type of guy. :wink:
  • Agree-to-Disagree
    But it's the human way of learning (if learning happens at all): learning from your mistakes and simply learning by doing.ssu

But doing the wrong thing based on what we think we know about global-warming/climate-change is a VERY expensive mistake.
  • frank
    The IPCC says that there is high confidence that the ECS is within the range of 2.5 °C to 4 °C, with a best estimate of 3 °C. That is a very wide range.Agree-to-Disagree