• Dermot Griffin
    Before we can even begin to discuss the meaning of anatta or non-self, we must discuss the meaning of the self. We in the west tend to separate the idea of the self from the soul. The self is a physical concept of who you are while the soul is the “ethereal stuff” underneath it all. Indian philosophy takes a different opinion on this. I am no expert on Indian philosophy as all I have is a layman’s reading of the texts, not to mention that I see the similarities between Buddhism and Stoicism plain as day. When I read texts like The Upanishads I cannot help but see the self, atman in Sanskrit and atta in Pali, as something that is almost like a fusion of the soul with the physicalist conception of the self as if they are one in the same. I am not a Hindu, but when I read up on various ideas in Hinduism it seems to me that the self in Hindu thought is both physical and metaphysical; Perhaps I am completely misunderstanding this and, if I am, someone enlighten me. Non-self is not suggesting that you don’t really exist, that there is no real individual who has experiences. The whole “self is illusory” bit tends to sound like Sam Harris mixing his own biases with a bit of Buddhism. As I understand it through classical Buddhist thinkers such as Buddhaghosa, Siddhartha Gautama’s overall point was to promote the idea that there is no permanent unchanging self and not “You do not exist.” So non-self is akin to David Hume’s bundle theory, that is to say, what we conceive as “me, myself, and I” is really just a collection of attributes that make up who we are (i.e. our physical traits, hobbies, interests, etc).