• Matripsa
    Hi everyone,

This is my first post on this forum. I'm not a philosophy expert by any means, but I find these kinds of thought experiments and debates really fascinating and fun to engage with.

In one of my recent classes, we discussed the famous "inverted qualia" argument against physicalism about consciousness. For those unfamiliar, it posits a scenario where two individuals (Alice and Mark) have qualitative experiences that are systematically inverted relative to each other (e.g. what feels like "red" to Alice feels like "green" to Mark), despite being physical/functional duplicates.

This is meant to show that qualia (the subjective feel of experiences) cannot be accounted for purely by physical/functional properties, as Alice and Bob's qualitative states differ while their physical states are identical by premise. However, I have some issues with using the example of color qualia inversion specifically to make this argument persuasive. Unlike other sensory modalities, our experience of color is deeply intertwined with linguistic labeling practices from the start. The way we divide up the continuous spectrum into discrete color categories is shaped by the language and cultural milieu we're embedded in.

So positing an "inversion" of color qualia may not actually establish a difference in phenomenal experience - it may just be describing a difference in linguistic labeling habits. In the end, it may not even make sense to talk about "experiencing the qualia of red" as if there is some objective, mind-independent property that fixes what "red" refers to. Rather, we may just be experiencing the qualia of what is agreed upon or linguistically coded to be "red" within a particular cultural/linguistic framework. The very notion of inverting an experience of "redness" might be incoherent without that shared linguistic coordination.