• Nimish
    Is self blame harmful? Should one do it? and if one does it then the next obvious step must be to forgive yourself. But why even blame yourself when you're coming to terms with yourself later on anyway.. So blaming altogether seems to be a pointless thing. Or am I missing something, and blaming yourself actually leads to personal growth by accepting responsibility for your actions

I also am a complete novice. So please take any inaccuracy from my part as a grain of salt.

• Leontiskos
    If blame is not possible then accountability is not possible.
    Therefore, if accountability is good then blame is good.

Should one do it? and if one does it then the next obvious step must be to forgive yourself. But why even blame yourself when you're coming to terms with yourself later on anyway..Nimish

You seem to be asking, "Why accuse if you are going to forgive?"
  • Tom Storm
    Is self blame harmful? Should one do it? and if one does it then the next obvious step must be to forgive yourself.Nimish

Depends what you did and why. I'm not a big fan of 'forgiveness' as such - it often has a Christian flavour to it. I'm more of a fan of contextualising what has happened and understanding one's own behaviour to be the product of situational factors. This allows for understanding rather than forgiving - whatever that means. Understanding gives you the option of doing 'better' next time. Is there a connection for you between forgiveness and personal responsibility? Assuming responsibility and changing one's behavior in the future can be more beneficial than merely assigning blame, which often amounts to a passive judgment.
  • substantivalism