• Wayfarer
    Actually I think the key here is the collective nature of culture - is 'mimetic' the right word? We're immersed or embedded in the medium of language, culture and history, which is shared, in which we situate ourselves. Ergo, a 'collective consciousness'; the closer you go to the top level the more differentiated it is, but further down it merges with the archetypes and forms......
  • Punshhh

I have had similar experiences, when I was a teenager I became fascinated by dreams, I studied dream interpretation, tried to cultivate lucid dreaming etc. I didn't really get very far in learning to understand the process, I think because I was going through adolescence at the time and had a lot of emotional angst. What did happen though was that I began to dream more, at times it felt like living a week in dreams every night and I was getting short of sleep, so stopped and poured all my resources into drinking and partying at college.

In hindsight I can see how what I was dreaming about and the form of the dreams I was having were dictated by what was going through my head at the time and that age in my life, with a strong component of emotional anxiety.

So in reply I would say that although the dream state is experienced as quite real, it is entirely determined by, reflective of, your mental life and state in your body. Also it is entirely reliant on your brain activity for it to happen atall. If it were to be a true alternative reality as you speculate, it would require an equivalent hardware to produce the mental activity.

Although in principle I agree with you, in your speculation, which is partly why I was so fascinated by it myself in my youth.
  • jkop