• flannel jesus
    please be specific. Right now it seems immensely clear to me that he's being charged with numerous things other than intimidating witnesses, and it's not clear to me he's even being charged with intimidating witnesses at all.
  • NOS4A2

Exactly right. So naturally one wonders why he’s being charged under these statutes. I am not a lawyer, so I don’t know.
  • flannel jesus
    You said he's only being charged with witness tampering. Your only argument to support that is that you're not a lawyer and therefore are unqualified to determine if the thing he's being charged with is Witness Tampering?
  • NOS4A2

Can you tell me why he’s being charged under that statute? And why pulling a fire alarm is now a federal crime?
  • flannel jesus
    you keep saying "that statute". He has multiple charges. Which statute are you referring to as "that statute"?
  • NOS4A2

18 U.S. Code § 1512 - Tampering with a witness, victim, or an informant
  • flannel jesus
    Please read this

https://www.forbes.com/sites/alisondurkee/2023/07/28/what-crimes-was-trump-charged-with-in-federal-documents-case-heres-what-to-know-as-doj-brings-new-charges/

This gives some detail as to why 1512 is ONE OF the specific charges. It doesn't seem to be about witnesses at all.
  • NOS4A2

It isn’t about witnesses, victims, informants at all, but according to a provision under that statute it is now a federal crime for pulling a fire alarm in Congress, with punishment up to 20 years in prison.
  • flannel jesus
    It isn’t about witnessesNOS4A2

That isn't what you were saying before
  • NOS4A2

You’ll quote me saying otherwise, I’m sure.
  • flannel jesus
    The crime is the same and just as stupid in both cases. It’s a witness tampering crimeNOS4A2

You think the crime Trump is being charged with is Witness Tampering?flannel jesus

It appears to be so.NOS4A2
  • NOS4A2

Now quote the statute.
  • flannel jesus
    (c)Whoever corruptly—