• matt
    Like my drum sticks?
  • schopenhauer1

Depends how you use or not use them.
  • Caldwell
    The error written in our code is that self-awareness leads to understanding of systemic futility.schopenhauer1

Then there's your answer: disconnect self-awareness and you're fine again.
  • matt
    Very true... It is fear that keeps us in chains.
  • schopenhauer1

Well, animals seem to not have this problem of self-awareness. Either do machines. Another problem would be that people would rather not be either of those, now that we've experienced our Promethean situation.
  • schopenhauer1
    Very true... It is fear that keeps us in chains.matt

And no beat, if you strive to be a drummer.
  • matt
    I am a drummer. But I've settled and its eating me alive.
  • schopenhauer1

Settling is for homesteaders.
  • BC
    So is this good or bad? Does new mean better? Your implication is no. Why not?schopenhauer1

I enjoy using new technology. But the fact is, the act of creative destruction which brought us the current crop of gadgets was a extremely huge waste of resources--duplicating what already existed. Land lines vs. cell phones? There are apps on my cell phone that I find worth the cost -- for instance, the MetroTransit app which provides me with the bus schedule for any one of thousands of bus stops I might want to catch a bus at. Or the taxi app that shows me where my taxi is, as I wait for it. On the other hand, voice quality of cell phones is usually crappy, and everyone using the world as their private phone booth is annoying, if not fatal.
  • BC
    A.I. presumably would do most of the workdarthbarracuda

If the A.I. really is intelligent, when you tell the A.I. robot to do something no warm blooded animal would want to do, what you are going to hear is "You must be out of your fucking mind if you think I am going to sit there and sort all that crap out."
  • Caldwell
    Well, animals seem to not have this problem of self-awareness.schopenhauer1