• Agent Smith
    I'm a bit confused right now. The notion of a definition includes a word which can be any damn thing you want (arbitrary) although etymology-based ones tend to make sense and are more easily recalled + what the definiens lists are, conventionally, essential features (not arbitrary) of that element/set the word is assigned to. I think I'm making a noob mistake; sorry, I'm new to the game (of philosophy).
  • javi2541997

Yes, you are right and I see your point. But I was referring to the type of language implemented. If you check logic premises they tend to be pretty hard to follow. This is why I wonder if it is more difficult to me to reach "truth" because I can't follow the logic rules.
  • Agent Smith
    Yes, you are right and I see your point. But I was referring to the type of language implemented. If you check logic premises they tend to be pretty hard to follow. This is why I wonder if it is more difficult to me to reach "truth" because I can't follow the logic rules.javi2541997

That's the same problem I face. We're, it seems, in the same boat. Apologies. :smile:

Specialized symbols translate into speed & brevity if you're using pen/pencil & paper. However, have you noticed how cumbersome it is to write logical & mathematical symbols online? LaTex is unweildly & time-consuming. How odd!

And yep I concur, technical symbols tend to be hard to memorize and adds another barrier between us and what's being conveyed - it's like learning an new language and you know how difficult that is. However, once one has the language under one's belt, learning is accelerated. That's what I think anyway; mileage may vary.
  • Metaphysician Undercover