• counterpunch

Is anyone on this plane a poet?

I'm a doctor!

I need a poet, dammit!
  • Tom Storm
    Edit: this might be interesting: SIX SIGNS OF SCIENTISMBanno

It's a wonderful piece. Succinct and lucid.
  • counterpunch
    It's a wonderful piece. Succinct and lucid.Tom Storm

Oddly anachronistic example toward the end.

"Sometimes, the resistance is foolish. I read, for
    example, that some prominent Indian social scientists favor the traditional custom
    of variolation – inoculation with human smallpox matter, accompanied by prayers
    to the goddess smallpox – over the modern scientific practice of vaccination using
    cowpox vaccine, which is much less likely to cause smallpox in the patient. This,
    in my view, is worse than silly."

Smallpox was eradicated by 1978. This essay was published 2009.
  • Tom Storm
    Did you like the essay?
  • Wayfarer
    Poetry used to get people laid, right?Tom Storm

Ah but that’s only one of the four F’s. Bet it didn’t help at all with the other three. Although I guess if you were good enough at it, might help with feeding.
  • counterpunch
    Did you like the essay?Tom Storm

It's a perfectly decent essay. But I didn't like it - because in my view, accusations of scientism are an attempt to put science back in a box that it shouldn't be in, in the first place.
  • Tom Storm
    Rehabilitating the unconscionable?
  • FrancisRay
    Although, there are signs that the global population growth rate is going down. here

That would solve a lot of problems. And it's largely due to science and engineering.
    frank

Ha. I'd say it's likely to go down big time and soon leaving few survivors, and all due to science engineering.
  • counterpunch

Rehabilitating the unconscionable?Tom Storm

Piling on!

Modern science, based on the hypothetico-deductive methodology described by Galileo in 'Dialogue Concerning the Two Chief World Systems' - has been under constant attack for 400 years.