• S
    It's never enough for anything, to simply want it.tim wood

So you've changed your mind? Or you're just interpreting what I said in a way that I never intended? You said that "wanting" an abortion "is enough" to morally justify getting one. I disagree. My addition of "simply" was just a way of distinguishing your position from my more complex one. In my position, want alone is insufficient grounds for moral justification. Additional factors need to be taken into consideration.

The requirement for two doctors seems intrusive to me.tim wood

It's a matter for doctors, and the requirement of two is a safeguarding measure. Seems sensible to me.

Does UK law require such duplication in most things?tim wood

I don't know. I'm just a layman on the topic of UK law.
  • Rank Amateur
    it is not good philosophy because it makes absolutely no attempt to be good philosophy. Quite the contrary, Judge Blackmun states -

"We need not resolve the difficult question of when life begins. When those trained in the respective disciplines of medicine, philosophy, and theology are unable to arrive at any consensus, the judiciary, at this point in the development of man’s knowledge, is not in a position to speculate as to the answer."

The core underlying statement of fact in the decision, that allows the killing of the fetus, is the court does not really know when life begins, and they don't need to resolve it.

As I mentioned earlier - the case was about the privacy clause in the 14th amendment. Roe claimed the woman's right was absolute up to birth, The court, with the wisdom of Solomon - looked to split the difference and came up with:

"We, therefore, conclude that the right of personal privacy includes the abortion decision, but that this right is not unqualified and must be considered against important state interests in regulation."