• frank
    have read about it; I studied it as an undergraduate. If there is no actuality referred to in the T-sentence then what do you think 'snow is white' refers to? In my view 'snow' refers to snow, 'is' refers to being and 'white' refers to white. Snow being white is an actuality, no?Janus

What you've got is the Janus theory of truth and reference. Deflationism is ironically complex and takes some pondering. There's more than one version. PM me and I'll give you the primo reading list.
  • creativesoul
    There's no actuality in the T-sentence rule. Read about it.
    — frank

I have read about it; I studied it as an undergraduate. If there is no actuality referred to in the T-sentence then what do you think 'snow is white' refers to? In my view 'snow' refers to snow, 'is' refers to being and 'white' refers to white. Snow being white is an actuality, no?
    Janus

What determines the referent within Davidson's use of 'Snow is white'?
  • Janus
    So, given that Banno was drawing an equivalence between what Davidson called the "third dogma" and what I wrote, then the answer is "No, Davidson did not reject that distinction as the third dogma of empiricism".creativesoul

I am further of the view that there are two major categories of things. That which existed in it's entirety prior to language and that which did not.creativesoul

I read the rejection of the conceptual scheme/ empirical content duality to be a rejection of the idea that there are "two major categories of things"; in other words a rejection of the notion that there is empirical content outside of any conceptual scheme; but I could be misinterpreting Davidson. This idea that there is no pre-conceptual content, is certainly the view of McDowell and Brandom whose ideas I am more familiar with.
  • Janus